Citizen of the year for Moose Jaw was awarded  today and  John Howard Society of Saskatchewan is pleased to announce its Board President  received the honor.

In accepting, Christine Boyczuk, remained true to her ever humble demeanor ,while acknowledging the others who had been nominated, saying “really, they had deserved the win.”
 She said,”sometimes things look insurmountable but with a few good people, a lot of energy and hard work, conditions can improve.”
Paraphrasing from one of her favorite inspirational poems, Christine said “lots of folks like to go it alone like the eagle, but its best to be more like a flock of geese..where it much better to achieve ones goals in community.”
A contingent from JHSS was in attendance at the awards luncheon which really meant a lot to Christine.
The board and staff wish to congratulate Christine and express genuine appreciation for her leadership.

The John Howard Society of Saskatchewan wishes to recognize one of its own.

JHSS Board Chair Christine Boyczuk has been nominated as Moose Jaw Citizen of the year.

Christine was elected to JHSS Board of Directors in June 2015, serving as Vice President and Chair of the Governance Committee before becoming the President of the Board.

As a former educator, Christine has been a Language Arts Consultant, Gifted Education Consultant and Special Education Consultant, Superintendent, Assistant Director of Education and Director of Education.  Christine retired as the Regional Intersectoral Committee (RIC) Coordinator for the Moose Jaw South Central Region and currently, is the part-time Literacy Coordinator for the Moose Jaw and District Literacy Network.

Christine brings an extensive background in governance having chaired the Provincial Special Education Review for the province of Saskatchewan (Directions for Diversity). She has served on numerous boards, most notably as chair of the Provincial SIAST Board of Directors, Vice Chair, Moose Jaw YMCA Board of Directors, member of the Canadian Mental Health Association Moose Jaw Branch Board, Vice President of the Friendly City Optimist Club and an active member of the Wakamow Rotary Club.

Christine was a recipient of the provincial volunteer Centennial Medal, a SIAST Honorary Diploma, the Moose Jaw Police Community Safety Award and the PRISM Lifetime Achievement Award. Accomplishments she is proud of are the collaborations with others in establishing the Moxie Club, a program for children with Autism; implementing the HUB approach in Moose Jaw, an intervention program for at-risk individuals; implementing the Moose Jaw Drug Court; planning the Moose Jaw Family Centers and the region-wide Violence Threat Risk Assessment Protocol and Practice.

The Citizen of the Year Award coordinated by the local Chamber of Commerce will be announced on Thursday, January 18 at a luncheon which will be held at the Heritage Inn in Moose Jaw. Tickets are $30.00 and the registration deadline for this event is Tuesday, January 16. The luncheon will also feature Mayor Fraser Tolmie and his annual “State of the City” address.

On behalf of the JHSS Board of Directors, it is with sincere regret that I announce that Greg Fleet, CEO, will be on a leave of absence until further notice. We extend our very best wishes to Greg while he is away.         
The Board has appointed Jaime Boldt who will assume the role of interim Chief Executive Officer (CEO). 
From all of us on the Board, we appreciate your ongoing support, and look forward to continuing to work together in making a meaningful difference in our community. 
Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact Jaime Boldt at (306) 527-1415 or" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer"> Thank you. 
Christine Boyczuk
President of the Board
JHSS Board of Directors